10 Things GlobeMed Has Taught Me

 

 

Clara is a fourth year majoring in Human Biology and Society with a minor in Public Health. Currently, she serves as the External ghU Coordinator for GlobeMed at UCLA. Outside of GlobeMed, she works as a Peer Learning Facilitator at the Undergraduate Writing Center and a research assistant for a Social Psychology lab. Fun Fact: If you’re ever in trouble, fear not! Clara is a certified EMT!

 

I have a confession to make: I have never written a GlobeMed blog before. It’s not that I don’t believe in the value of them; anyone around for my tenure as Director of Communications can tell you how strongly I feel about that. It’s just when faced with the insurmountable task of putting everything I have learned from GlobeMed into words, my mind draws a blank and my creative spirit hides in the corner. How could I possibly formulate a piece that does justice to the amazing experiences of the past three years? How could I explain to people outside of the room exactly what GlobeMed has done for me?

 

Well in the spirit of senior year, and to alleviate the guilt I feel for talking the talk but not walking the walk, I’m going to give it a try.

 

A list of things GlobeMed has taught me

1. An unquantifiable amount of interesting (depressing) facts about the world that I tend to whip out in an attempt to educate (annoy) my roommates

2. Every problem is the result of multiple earlier problems and without intervention, will lead to even more down the line

3. People will constantly surprise you

4. It is possible to meet some of your best friends while yelling about the proper allocation of resources after the Rwandan Genocide

5. A solution that does not reflect the wants and the needs of the people it hopes to help is no solution at all

6. An effective discussion does not have to end in agreement

7. Every voice at the table adds something different, and that difference is almost always valuable

8. Not all aid is good aid, and one must be critical of every action they take with the goal to “help people”

9. Not everyone in the field of Global Health agrees with number 8

10. Having the knowledge is great, but being able to approach a problem flexibly from multiple angles is often better

 

I’m going to stop here because, while there is no limit to the things I have learned these past three years, there is probably a limit to how much people are willing to read about it. So here’s to the foundation you have given me, and thanks to you, the lifetime I hope to spend building upon it. Cheers, GlobeMed!

Leave a Reply

