First Impressions from a New Perspective

19118_993441484001171_6429598216377451456_n

Asli Pekcan is a first year Computational and Systems Biology Major. She is from Basking Ridge, New Jersey and is part of the Finance Committee. If she could live in a book, TV show, or movie, she would take a one-way trip on the Hogwarts Express to the wizarding world of Harry Potter.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Three weeks into my first year at UCLA and I’m still struggling to remember how to get to Bunche Hall from the hill. If that wasn’t difficult enough, I now have to navigate my way through weekly discussions on social justice and controversial topics, the Mpoma HIV/AIDS Initiative, and the concept of a partnership with an organization halfway across the globe.

But that’s why I’m so excited to be part of GlobeMed.

After my first ghU discussion last week, I was surprised to see how eager everybody was to discuss issues like microaggression, triggers, and the right to be offended. Not only that, but I was surprised at how comfortable I felt sharing my own opinions. It’s reassuring to be part of such a welcoming community, and I can’t wait for the many intriguing and intellectually stimulating conversations to come.

On another note, I am slowly getting to know our partner more, and how our ongoing relationship with Mpoma is really making a difference in the community abroad. I am learning that GlobeMed isn’t just another pre-med group or fundraising organization. It’s a sustainable partnership based on mutual agreement, respect, and understanding. This makes me appreciate the work we do even more; I hope to contribute this year, and even travel as part of the GROW team in the future.

As I get to know more members, learn about more issues, and become more aware of our partnership, I can’t help but feel fortunate that I was able to join such an amazing organization. I am definitely looking forward to what the rest of the year will bring!

Leave a Reply

