Ariella Talks Inspiration and Opportunity in GlobeMed

10958366_10206211150537251_1636748948_n

Ariella is a 3rd Year Pre-Med History Major. She is a member of the Campaigns committee this year. In addition to her involvement in GlobeMed, Ariella is an intern at a Pediatric medical office and formerly worked as a Care Extender at the UCLA Medical Center.

____________________________________________________________________________

One evening my mother was running around the house trying to prepare everything for a small dinner party at our house. I asked her if there was any way that I could help and she replied, “See what needs to be done and do it.” At this moment I did not think very much of her remark, but later in life I realized the significance of this simple statement and aspired to incorporate its meaning into everything I do in my life.

As a member of GlobeMed at UCLA I have learned more about the problems that people around the globe face on a daily basis. It is disheartening to know that people around the world do not have access to clean water or affordable healthcare. While taking an introductory Social Welfare course at UCLA I realized that this problem even exists in our very own backyard. People around the United States are suffering greatly due to their inability to afford proper healthcare for themselves and their families.

GlobeMed has allowed me the opportunity to act in order to solve this problem and has educated me about what is going on worldwide in regards to global health. I no longer have to be hopeless in my pursuit to help create a world in which everyone has clean water to drink and a doctor nearby which is available when needed. My GlobeMed family inspires me to work hard and to educate others in order to ensure that this problem slowly but surely is fixed.

Leave a Reply

