Getting Excited for GROW

Ever since I joined GlobeMed, I always really liked the idea of GROW (Grass-Roots On-site Work at our partner organization over the summer): personally experiencing partnership, contributing to the community that we continually talk about, actively participating in solidarity. The experience sounded equally challenging and enlightening. The experience sounded like something I wanted to be a part of.

As time progressed and I become more involved in and more infatuated with GlobeMed, GROW not only seemed like a realistic venture, but an almost necessary one. Although I have experienced nothing but love and happiness in my time with GlobeMed at UCLA, I knew that had so much to gain from experiencing the other half of our chapter – our partner. I wanted to meet the people of Anaka, to see our partnership in action, to help our chapter move forward. While wanting to contribute in any and every way possible to the community of Anaka and to this partnership, I also wanted to be challenged to learn and grow as a human being and as a member of GlobeMed. GROW could fulfill all of these ambitions.

So when the opportunity came this year, I knew that I was ready to go. If GlobeMed at UCLA has offered me this much happiness and joy, how could I not want to experience a whole new side of it?

I have been trying to wrap my head around this for awhile, but I still can’t come up with any words to describe the immense joy and excitement I felt upon hearing the news that I would be GROW coordinator for GlobeMed ’11-’12. Even caps lock wouldn’t do it justice. It was just glorious. Just absolutely glorious.

I know that we have a lot of work ahead of us, but I can’t help but feel beyond excited for GROW and the months leading up to it. I am excited to have the opportunity to apply all of the knowledge and passion that I have acquired during my time in GlobeMed. I am excited to carry out the new projects on our MOU. I am excited to meet Steven. Safe to say, I am excited for all of it.

I feel so blessed and fortunate to have such a solid team; I know that we’re going to have such a fun, productive time. I literally can’t wait. The full-blown GlobeMed at UCLA-Nwoya Youth Center experience; doesn’t that sound like heaven?!

– Caroline Nguyen
GROW Coordinator 2012

Leave a Reply

